read you must

One of my summer goals is to read more books that appeal to boy readers.  In my quest to accomplish this, I read The Strange Case of Origami Yoda and Darth Paper Strikes Back by Tom Angleberger.  I read both of these books along with a boy I am tutoring that is entering fifth grade in the fall.  We both agreed these books are entertaining and humorous stories that could really happen!  The characters learn a lot about themselves, friendship, and accepting differences.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is a novel, written in a semi-journal format, about a unique boy who makes an origami Yoda finger puppet.  Tommy narrates the opening and closing of the book.  He also gives a running commentary, at the end of each chapter, along with Harvey, an Origami Yoda naysayer.  Each chapter of the book is written from the perspective of a different character.  All of the characters attend the same middle school and deal with typical middle school problems.  Some characters find Origami Yoda to be Jedi-wise, while other characters find him to be completely annoying.  The best part about Origami Yoda, in my opinion, is he is a finger puppet being controlled by Dwight, an outcast amongst his peers.  Would you listen to Origami Yoda’s advice?  Do you think Origami Yoda is real or a finger puppet?

The sequel to The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is Darth Paper Strikes Back.  This book follows the story of Origami Yoda, Dwight, Tommy and Harvey along with other students at McQuarrie Middle School.  In a similar twist to the darkness of Darth Vader, Darth Paper becomes a rival to Dwight and his Origami Yoda.  Harvey’s Darth Paper is a bully.  He says mean things and helps in getting Dwight and Origami Yoda in a great deal of trouble.  Will the students at McQuarrie be able to help save Dwight and Origami Yoda?  Who’s side would you be on: Dwight and Origami Yoda OR Harvey and Darth Paper?  I guess you will have to read to find out…

If you are curious about origami, making an Origami Yoda or Darth Paper is a great place to start!  Tom Angleberger narrates an excellent video on just how to make your own Origami Yoda

and Darth Paper.

Coming soon, book #3!  August 7, 2012 The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee

Do you have a favorite author or book you like to recommend to boy readers?  Please share!  I am always looking to add to my “someday” book list!

For more details, visit Tom Angleberger’s website.  I am looking forward to reading more of his books!

I encourage reader’s to check-out Tom Angleberger books from their school or local library.

Support your neighborhood and independent bookseller whenever possible.

9 responses

  1. Amber, you know what I LOVE for boy readers?!?! Jon Scziezka’s website, http://www.guysread.com … are you familiar with it? If not, I definitely recommend you check it out! The entire website is devoted to boy readers, and there are tons of book ideas listed for all different genres and just boy “topics” – everything from war to sports to action to cars etc. I used this website with two boys that I was tutoring this summer, and they spent HOURS poring over this site, getting excited about new books!

    PS – I commend you for reading these books! I am all about helping the kids find the books that they will love, but not the best at reading them myself, oops! I know I will be better for my kids if I have personally read them – so you are my role model for this!

    1. Kristen-I am going to check that web site out for my, own reluctant reader Mateo! Yahoo! What a wealth of resources! Thanks!

  2. myredheadedchild1 | Reply

    Amber- Great book suggestions! I was drawn in by their titles alone! I plan on purchasing these for the boys in my classroom. Thanks for the post!

  3. Amber, great idea to include the author’s two videos on how to make these characters. Did you and the boy you tutor actually make these origami characters? I think MLIT 5 would love to see them! Niki mentioned the same website for boys that Kristen suggested, guysread.com; it must be a good one.

  4. The Jon Scziezka website is a great resource for boys!
    Amber – If you have boys who read at a higher level yet are reluctant, than perhaps you can try The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. One of my boys highly recommended it last year. It has some similarities to The Hungar Games but with a boy as a main character. It is on my someday list!

    1. Niki, I read about the Maze Runner series on a blog, but I forgot about them. I am going to add the website to my google reader. Great tips! Thanks! 🙂

  5. I love this! I can’t wait to show Mateo your blog, the books, you tube videos-so much fun!! How amazing are you!!!

    1. Awesome, Carrie! Keep me posted on what he thinks of my blog and the books! I would love to get his input!

  6. Another great blog, Amber! These are two books that I haven’t read yet, but are on my “must read” list. By the summary descriptions, I think that my boys will be more apt to pick them up. Good books will entice struggling writers! You are so well read, so keep the titles coming! I love the videos, too.

Leave a comment